Vikingo News!; Raul could leave in 2011, Ramos would sign Iniesta, and Pepe’s kind words to Felipe Luis

January 27, 2010 at 6:30 pm | Posted in Vikingo News! | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

via AS

AS is reporting that supposedly Raul’s agent told Soccernet that his client could leave Madrid in 2011, seeing as Raul has only been in the starting line-up six times in La Liga since Pellegrini took reins as manager. As a self declared Raulista it pains me to hear such news, but part of me tells me this story ain’t all that true. So I am not too worried. Furthermore, AS continues that his agent has recognized that Raul may well end up in the Premier League, but adds that their are other options like Quatar and the U.S. This is where my bullshit radar goes up on this story because so far I have not heard anywhere of any English clubs being interested in grabbing Raul. Is this a ploy by Raul’s agent to get him to play more minutes. Is it a threat of “I am leaving ” in order for the club to give Raul the need of being important? I don’t know, but unless Raul himself comes out saying he wants to leave, then I simply will disregard this story. 

In an interview with Don Balon, Sergio Ramos spoke about how Pellegrini has found the ideal style of football for this team, his injuries, and praises the great abilities of Karim Benzema. However, what stood out in the interview was his response on who he would sign from Barcelona for Madrid. He said none other than Casper himself, Andres Iniesta. Hmm not to step out of bounds with my madridismo, but he is also my favorite player of Barcelona. Until I find an English transcript of the interview I will post up what I found on the official site and also the don balon site for the entire interview. Real Madrid (English and only parts of the interview).  And Don Balon( in spanish) 

Finally we end with the sweet words Pepe had for Felipe Luis, who suffered a horrifying injury to his knee against Atletic Bilbao.  

“I wish to send an affectionate message to Filipe Luis. Images from his injury have caused an impact on all of us. He is a player who has proved his worth nonetheless.” 

“He is a jolly person who is strong enough to get over this. He will prove to be a fighter off the pitch and we hope he recovers soon to thrill football fans with his game again. I wish to send him all my support.” 

Animo Felipe Luis!

Two match suspension? Let’s Move on

January 27, 2010 at 5:52 pm | Posted in La Liga, Vikingo News! | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

via Sport

The news of Ronaldo’s two match suspension has not gone well with the people of Madrid and the outrage has been let known. Now I have seen the images quite a few times and each time I see it I am convinced even more that Ronaldo really did not have any intention in hurting the player. He simply had the misfortune of breaking his nose and seeing the red for it. A bit harsh? Absolutely, but the ref was nearby and made the call. Still, with the news of his two match suspension I do believe that is also quite a hefty punishment. The Catalan press, to be exact El Mundo Deportivo, on the other hand are outraged that the committee did not ban him for 4 to 12 matches. Yes, you read right they wanted to see a 12 match suspension! Their front page a loud “Bochornoso” was in bold with a pic of CR9 to declare an injustice. What is more shocking to me is that Crisitano Ronaldo made their front page two days in a row! Now to me that is news when a Catalan sports daily has the biggest face of Madrid on their Barca loving paper for two days straight.

But I am getting off topic so my original point is that this whole Ronaldo mess is getting out of hand. Madrid are set that they will appeal the Committee of Competitions decision, stating that his actions do not merit such punishment. And like I said I totally agree with what the people of Madrid are saying, but honestly must we appeal? I know he is an important player to us, but do we have to drag this baby out more than it already has? It is Wednesday and we are still talking about what is fair and unfair on actions that happened Sunday. The need to appeal makes Madrid look desperate and gives more push to those who hate us. We should just swallow the fact that he will not be with us in two crucial games and let that be the end of the story. Please let us just move on and focus our attention to the upcoming match in that damned stadium of El Raizor. This is where our real focus should be at.

*Xavi commented today on this whole Ronaldo issue and he believed that the suspension was absolutely fair. In his words, “justísimos”. Now why doesn’t he focus on matters concerning his club and keep his opinion on Madrid  to himself. For that tremendous lie of a penalty he invented against Espanyol would also have merit some sort of fine or suspension, at least a yellow for deception. In my eyes that would have been justísimo!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.